Status: Republic

Legislature: House of Assembly

Independence: 3rd November 1978

President: His Excellency Charles Angelo Savarin (Head of State)

Prime Minister: Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit (Head of Government)

Current Government: Dominica Labour Party

Leader of the Opposition: Honourable Lennox Linton

Other Political Parties: United Workers Party and Dominica Freedom Party


Dominica is a republic with a non-executive presidency and parliamentary democracy. It has a unicameral House of Assembly with 30 members plus the Speaker and Attorney-General. There are 21 directly elected members and nine senators appointed by the President, five on the advice of the Prime Minister, four on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition. Elections are held at least every five years, with universal suffrage for adults.


The President is nominated by the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition and elected by the House of Assembly for not more than two terms of five years. He or she appoints the Prime Minister, who consults the President in appointing other ministers. The President may dismiss the Prime Minister in the event of a no-confidence vote in the House of Assembly. Individual rights are guaranteed under the constitution.


Head of Government: 

Roosevelt Skerrit (born 8 June 1972) is a Dominican politician who has been Prime Minister of Dominica since 2004; he has also been the Member of Parliament for the Vieille Case constituency since 2000. Regionally, he has served as the Chairman of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) and most recently as Chairman of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) in 2010.

Want to know more?

Head of State: 


The President is the Head of State of the Commonwealth of Dominica. The Office of the President is established by Section 18 of the Dominica Constitution Order 1978. The President is elected by the House of Assembly and holds office for a term of five years.

Charles A. Savarin was elected President of the Commonwealth of Dominica by the House of Assembly on Monday, September 30, 2013, in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Dominica. He comes to the office of President after a long and distinguished career as a teacher, trade unionist, parliamentarian, diplomat and government minister.

More information on the President can be found by visiting the Office of the President website.