The High Commission for The Commonwealth of Dominica in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Head of State:

The President is the Head of State of the Commonwealth of Dominica. The Office of the President is established by Section 18 of the Dominica Constitution Order 1978. The President is elected by the House of Assembly and holds office for a term of five years.

Charles A. Savarin was elected President of the Commonwealth of Dominica by the House of Assembly on Monday, September 30, 2013, in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Dominica. He comes to the office of President after a long and distinguished career as a teacher, trade unionist, parliamentarian, diplomat and government minister.

More information on the President can be found by visiting the Office of the President website.