Dominica 26 September, 2017; 09:37 PM UK
        About us
        Consular Issues
        Government Services
        Trade and Investment
        TS Erika


News Archive
Picture Archive

   Menu Dominica Country

The Commonwealth of Dominica

The Commonwealth of Dominica (not to be confused with the Dominican Republic) is an English speaking country in the Eastern Caribbean.  Dominica was named after its sighting on a Sunday by Christopher Columbus when he sailed past the island in 1493.  Dominica is a ruggedly beautiful mountainous country with a population of approximately 72,000 inhabitants.  Dominica is a Republic which is a member of the Commonwealth.  It enjoys Westminster style parliamentary democracy and being unspoiled the sobriquet “the Nature Island of the Caribbean”.

The island, 289 square miles (748.51 square kilometres), is situated at the northern end of the Windward chain of the Lesser Antilles, lying between the two French islands of Martinique and Guadeloupe (one hour by boat to either island) and is readily accessible from Antigua, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Martinique, St Lucia and San Juan.

More information on:
• Country profile
• Geography
• Population
• Government

More information

  26 September, 2017  
Dominica Hurricane Maria Disaster Fundraiser
Friday 6th October 2017 - 8pm till 2am
  26 September, 2017  
Hurricane Maria
Drop-off locations - 25 September 2017
  26 September, 2017  
Prime Minister Skerrit on Monday 25th September 2017.
As at 4:30 pm yesterday September 24, 2017, DOMLEC was 500ft from PMH. DOMLEC expects to connect PMH by tomorrow Tuesday September 26, 2017. Simultaineously work is ongoing to restore electricity to the Portmouth Hospital. This week, work will continue on the upper Goodwill feeder so that electrici

  News from Dominica